Thursday, April 25, 2013

The NYSSWA All-State Boys Basketball Team

After several postponements, the New York State Sportswriters Association has released its all-state boys basketball team.

With three state championship teams, it isn't too much of surprise to note that Section II did pretty well for itself on the overall list. Both Lake George's Joel Wincowski (who is only a SOPHOMORE) and Argyle's Joey Lufkin were named players of the year in Class C and D repsectively.

Under the cut, check out the players of the year in each class and where our local kids ranked. To see the entire listing, click here for Class AA-A and here for Class B-D. Congrats again to everybody on a pretty awesome season.

Class AA
Player of the Year: Jon Severe - Christ the King, Sr.
Third Team
Javion Ogunyemi - Troy, Sr.
Sixth Team
Jamil Hood - Green Tech, Jr.
Tenth Team
Ralph Erickson - La Salle, Sr.
11th Team
Jerrell Reid - Troy, Sr.
12th Team
Greg Stire - CBA, Sr.
Honorable Mention
Anthony Mack - Catholic Central
Elijah Burns - La Salle
Nate Kane - Bethlehem
David Morrison - Shaker

Class A
Player of the Year: Adam Weir - Canisius, Sr.
Third Team
Joe Cremo - Scotia, So.
Fourth Team
John Moutopoulous - Albany Academy, Jr.
12th Team
Cam Girard - Glens Falls, Sr.
Honorable Mention
Charlie Peltz - Queensbury
Andrew Tabbert - Scotia
Robert Knightes - Burnt Hills

Class B
Player of the Year: Eric Paschall - Dobbs Ferry, Jr.
First Team
Jordan Gleason - Watervliet, Sr.
Third Team
Tyler McLeod - Watervliet, Sr.
Fifth Team
Shane Lyon - Schuylerville, Sr.
Eighth Team
Elijah Newsome - Cohoes, Sr.
Ninth Team
Jordan Brantley - Catskill, Sr.
Honorable Mention
Brendon Halligan - Cairo-Durham
Will Turner - Fonda
Caleb Stewart - Meekel Christian
Jared Beattie - Granville
Dan Waldron - Schuylerville

Class C
Player of the Year: Joel Wincowksi - Lake George, So.
Fifth Team
John Rooney - Hoosic Valley, So.
Seventh Team
Colin Oswald - Greenwich, Sr.
Honorable Mention
Ethan Wincowski - Lake George
Logan Hotaling - Voorheesville
Ethan Ross-Hixson - Hoosic Valley

Class D
Player of the Year: Joey Lufkin - Argyle, Sr.
Second Team
Mat Yamin - Loudonville Christian, Sr.
Fifth Team
Del Pryce - Argyle, Jr.
Honorable Mention
Derek Durkee - Fort Ann


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home